Tags

, , , , , , , ,

Toward the end of Mark chapter 4, in the New Testament, there is an interesting story told in only four verses.  Jesus was at the sea of Galilee and the crowd was so enormous that he entered a ship and sat there while he taught them.  He had just finished giving the parables of the sower (Mark 4: 3-20), the candle under a bushel (Mark 4: 21-22), the seed growing secretly (Mark 4: 26-29), and the mustard seed (Mark 4: 30-32) and, when evening came, he told his apostles that he wanted to cross to the other side of the sea.  So the twelve sent the crowd away and put out to sea.  Shortly thereafter,  Jesus fell asleep on a pillow in the stern of the ship.  Not long afterward, a storm blew up around the little boat so that large waves filled the ship with water.  Terrified, the twelve woke Jesus up with the plea, “Master, carest thou not that we perish?”  Jesus, immediately arose and rebuked the wind with just three words: “Peace,  be still.”  As he spoke, the wind died, I imagine much like someone turning off a gigantic fan, and the ship was becalmed.  Jesus then turned to his friends and said, “Why are ye so fearful? How is it that ye have no faith?”

Remembering this story, I can’t help but wonder what it would be like to have been in that ship with those thirteen men.  Would I follow the crowd and panic?  Or would I trust that, so long as the Savior of the world was in the boat with us, we wouldn’t sink.

Today, I look at my own life.  True, I’m not in a boat in the middle of a stormy sea, like the twelve were, but I do have my trials and struggles.  My husband has chronic pain every day.  My son has autism and attention deficit hyperactivity disorder (ADHD) and is very hard to deal with.  My daughter is frequently unavailable when things need doing and, worst of all, I have dysthymia.  So, in my own way, I guess you could say I am in a situation similar to what the twelve were in.  Let me tell you, sometimes, it can be very overwhelming, even frightening and I start wondering if I’m up to the task.  I start asking, as the twelve did, “Master, carest thou not that [I] perish?”

Then I remember.  For most of my life, the Savior has been a large figure in my life.  He has been there more often than any other person in my life.  He has taught me to trust him and that he loves me.  So, with that in mind, even considering how terrifying or frustrating my life can be sometimes, I know I won’t sink, because the Savior is sleeping in my ship.

faith

