Tags

, , , ,

Blog ButtonThis week, I let my everlovin’ hubby, jaklumen choose the award winner.  In his estimation, the award should go to Miss sweetmarie9619 ‘s blog titled “Picking Up the Pieces: Reclaiming Life After Domestic Abuse”  I went there and read some of her posts and…  Well, let’s just say that jak and I are in agreement on this one.  It’s been a couple of weeks since she wrote anything new, but, if she’s anything like me, she’s probably so busy dealing with the onslaught of real life and trying to make it through one day that she’s been too busy to post.

Seriously, though, I love the beautiful design of this blog and each and every item has something to do with dealing with abuse or trauma (so, if you’ve been through some kind of trauma, realize that some of her material may be triggering.)

My favorite posting she’s written thus far is her latest, titled “Self-Devaluation in Trauma and Abuse.”  I like it mainly because I’ve lived it.  Those of you who have read my story know that I actually came off rather lucky.  My abuser never physically hurt me (meaning he never did anything to me that left any physical scars) and his abuse took place on only two consecutive nights.  I know many of you that read this blog have been through much, MUCH worse than that.  However, some friends of mine who are experts in that field tell me that there is no amount of abuse, however small, that doesn’t leave some kind of scars behind.  Therefore, there is really no comparison.  Ever.  It’s like comparing a brother and sister.  The fact that they’re related doesn’t mean that one is better than the other.  They really can’t be compared that way.

Plus, the final sentence in the posting made me smile and, trust me, after reading the entire post I was triggered, so I needed it.  Let me share it with you.

It’s okay to be loving to yourself.  I see you.  You’re amazing, and you’re worth it.

So, sweetmarie9619, congratulations and I hope you display your award with a certain amount of well-deserved pleasure.  Thanks for writing.

