Tags

, , , , ,

 

My-Story-Widget-pic_thumb.jpgThings were working out for me, finally. I had a job at the local Arby’s™ and, apart from an incident with a utility knife and some friction with one of the assistant managers, things were going well. I was even approaching my first anniversary of working for Arby’s, the longest I’d ever held a job before in my life, other than delivering newspapers.

Before I continue, it should be noted that, at the time in question, my family kept cats. We have had upwards of about ten of them at a time in the house and kept them in the bathroom, which could make for a very strong smell if you went in there unprepared. Like dogs, some cats spray things to mark them as their own. The downstairs bathroom was theirs. One of my chores was to clean out the cat litter boxes. We had two. Euch! Just thinking about it makes me nauseous.

Anyway, every Spring and Fall, almost like clockwork, I would contract some type of sinus infection. My sinuses would swell right up and I wouldn’t be able to breathe through my nose for long periods of time. I never, ever thought that the cats might be connected with this. Cats shed their coats every Spring and Fall, every year.

So, it was 8 May 1995 and I had my semi-annual sinus infection, so I had an appointment to visit the doctor to have my sinuses checked and get some kind of antibiotic for it. I let Mr. Selleck know that I had a doctor’s appointment and he let me off work about an hour early so that I could go home and change out of my uniform. I had taken something before work so that I could breathe and would be able to work, but I’d just worked a full shift and I was exhausted.

Got home feeling this tired. Can’t rest though. Things to do.

When I got home, the house was empty, my mother having left to go shopping at the local Albertson’s™. My brothers and sister were all out of the house as well, for one reason or another, and Daddy, of course, was at work. So, too tired to try and find a clean pair of jeans, I just changed out of my uniform shirt and walked to the end of our driveway to cross the street. Usually, I went to the corner of 40th and Tieton Drive to cross, but, this time, I didn’t think much about it.

I had decided to stop at the bank on the way to the doctor’s office so that I wouldn’t have to make a return trip just to pay the doctor. So, not really thinking clearly, I looked right and saw a car coming far enough off that I was sure I’d be able to cross the street before it reached me. I stepped into the street and began to cross.

I’d just reached the inside lane when I heard a horn honk and brakes screeching. I looked to my left and there was a tan car bearing down on me. Two thoughts instantly hit my brain. 1) I forgot to look left and 2) I should be on the sidewalk. I took a couple of steps backward.

POW!

Strangely, I don’t remember being hit by the car. I remember the sensation of flying forward and thinking bemusedly, Oh, so this is what it’s like when people are flying forward in the comics. The next thing I knew, I was pushing myself up from the blacktop nearly ten feet from where I’d initially been standing.

I showed this to my daughter and she smacked me in the head for leaving you in suspense.  

Have you ever been a pedestrian hit by a car?  A driver who hit a pedestrian?  How did it happen? What do you remember about it?  Tell me!  I really do want to know!

 

 

Enhanced by Zemanta
