Tags

, , , ,

Today’s assignment: look back over what you’ve published. What have you been most proud of? What are the common threads? Which have been most popular? Create and save at least two draft posts with ideas that come from those.

Hmm.  This is an interesting question; one that’s likely to result in several links backward.  Luckily, I have my handy-dandy time machine here along with my handy-dandy perky tour guide personality.

Just a minute. Ahem!

Ladies and gentlemen, welcome to Cimmy’s Zero to Hero: A Look Back.  Everyone step aboard the time machine.  Please, buckle your safety belts and keep your hands and arms inside the time machine until it comes to a complete stop.  (cutesy smile) Thank you.

Okay, ladies and gentlemen, now that we’ve landed, please feel free to browse the links as you please.  (cutesy smile) Let’s begin our tour!

The post I’ve been most proud of this past few days has been Day 16: Make a Writing Prompt Your Own.  I never thought I had an opinion about my reputation or lack thereof before.  This post helped me to see that and also helped me share that opinion with my readers.  I’ve never felt so good about something I wrote before.

Common threads for the past 25 days have been mostly related to sharing stories, my own and those of other people.  As I stated at day 1 of this challenge, “There’s nothing I like better than telling stories!”  It’s my firm belief that every life is a story that needs to be told.  It’s up to us to figure out exactly how to tell those stories.  The means we use to tell them is up to us.

The most popular post from the last 25 days was Day 23: Publish a Roundup.  I had a grand total of 14 views and just as many comments on that one post alone.  Most of them were from people thanking me for mentioning them in a post and/or complimenting me for being so consistent with this challenge.  I have to tell you, I totally basked in all the attention.  Incidentally, the post I had the most comments on (17) was Day 16, the post mentioned above.

Finally, a look into the future!  Here’s a list of some of the ideas I’m considering posting about in days to come.

  • The story about Mr. P and how I came close to having sex before marriage
  • My frustrating relationship with dysthymia
  • The time I was sexually molested
  • About how jaklumen and I first met
  • The birth stories of my kids.
  • More round-up posts (assuming you like them.  If too many people say they don’t like them, I won’t post them.)
  • Answering any questions you guys have for me.

Of course, I’ve loved spotlighting a blog every time I’ve posted here.  The people I’ve featured also seem to like it.  Who am I to judge?  Before I did it, I was never this popular.  So, I’ll probably keep doing it, which will, doubtless, give me many more ideas for stories I could tell you guys.

Thank you for joining our little tour.  Please, return to the time machine and buckle your safety belts.  Don’t forget to visit our gift shoppe on the way out.  (cutesy smile) Thank you.

This post was brought to you today by Rob’s Surf Report, published by would be surfer and haiku master, Rob Ross.  His latest post, yet another response to questions posed to him as a result of three Liebster Awards, is a discussion of his favorite type of writing.  Like to know what kind he likes best?  You’ll have to drop in and see for yourself.

