Tags

, , , , ,

Today’s assignment: publish a post based on your own, personalized take on today’s Daily Prompt.

Today’s Daily Prompt:  Do you have a reputation? What is it, and where did it come from? Is it accurate? What do you think about it?

Me 2012When people look at my face, they don’t expect that face to have a reputation.  Believe it or not, that, in and of itself, gives me a peculiar reputation.

Think about it!  Would you ever expect a face like this one to know any swear words?  But I do!  Would you expect someone with this face to say she’d come close to having sex before she was married?  I have (Seriously, I’ll post about it later).  How about my age?  Would you believe that this face is over forty years old?  Would you believe that most people I ask to guess my age usually guess that I’m younger?  I even had one person guess that I’m in my twenties.  I don’t mind telling you I was completely flattered.

The trouble with having a face like mine is that people don’t usually allow me to be myself.  So, let me tell you a few things about me.  First of all, I’m 44 years old.  I’ll be 45 in March.  I have Attention Deficit Disorder, which means I forget most things unless I write EVERYTHING DOWN and put BELLS on it all.  This last drives me F***ING CRAZY!  I hate losing things, too.  I’m a mother of two children, both of which also have ADD and one of whom has autism.  They also drive me crazy (which drives jak crazy, which drives me even more crazy.  Go figure).   I suffer from dysthymia, which is a type of low grade depression punctuated by bouts of clinical depression (another topic for a later time).  This means I spend a lot of time dealing with depression, a hold-over from a time when I was actually sexually molested as a child.

So, I guess you could say that I’m the living embodiment of why you shouldn’t judge a book by its cover.  Instead, try to step away from your preconceptions and get to know the person.  Who knows?  They might surprise you!

This post was brought to you today by Laith’s Ramblings, the creative outlet of the ever amazing Laith.  His latest post, written for Rob’s latest Haiku Genre Challenge, is a haiku written in honor of the late John Dobson, longtime promoter of amateur astronomy.  I enjoyed this post, as well as all the other stuff Laith has posted.  I invite you to give him a look and form your own opinion.

 

Enhanced by Zemanta
