Tags

, ,

Today’s Assignment: publish a post that includes a new-to-you element.

In desperation for something to write about this time, I’ve decided to do a standard news post.  I love you guys, so I hope this doesn’t turn out to be as boring as I think it’ll be.

BOY~ For Boy, Christmas break turned out to be a non-medicated affair, since his mother forgot to take him to a doctor’s appointment early last month.  We were running low on pills, so I scrapped the whole thing and let him run wild, all the time trying to handle him with the usual rules and stuff.  Boy’s favorite Christmas present was a LeapReader™ from my folks.  It came with two books, plus my folks bought him five other books.  That kept him remarkably quiet for some time.  That is until he started quoting back the books’ contents to us.  (sigh)  Oh well, at least he could be convinced to be quiet for long periods of time once we figured out how to download the audio for all those extra books.  Now, we have the meds back and he’s back in school.  Apart from trying to convince me that, after three months of tying his own shoes he has suddenly forgotten how to do it, things are more or less back to normal.

PRINCESS~ Princess found Christmas break to be exceptionally BORING!  Plus she says, going back to school afterward is like a really big Monday. Another difficulty she experienced this Christmas break was when her best friend and his family went away for Christmas Vacation.  Alas, when they returned, their phone seemed not to be functional so she has, since, been deprived of her new favorite pastime other than using the computer.  Her favorite Christmas present was a foam Minecraft Iron Pickaxe I bought for her at Walmart.  I should mention here that Princess is a SERIOUS Minecraft fan.  She was the one who got me interested in the game in the first place, if only so she’d have someone to discuss the game with.  We have the exceptionally silly Toby Turner (aka Tobuscus) to thank for this mainly.

This is an example of some of Toby’s weirder stuff from Minecraft.

jaklumen~ jak spent his Christmas break in the usual UNGODLY PAIN!

Christmas 2013Poor guy!  About the only thing that got him through Christmas at all was looking forward to having a special stimulation device surgically implanted in his back. Unfortunately, he developed diarrhea the night before the surgery was supposed to happen and, since it was just a trial, they decided the chances of his getting an infection were too high and canceled the surgery.  Needless to say jak was as not happy as it’s humanly possible to be.  His favorite Christmas present was a lovely bamboo magazine rack to keep his newspapers in.

Cimmorene~ I have never had a busier Christmas.  The main struggle has been getting the living room area clean enough so that Christmas presents could be opened up.  Then, of course, we had to wrap all the presents and stick them under the tree.  Our ward bishop gave us a gift card from Target for $50 (USD) to help us out, so we went to Target during the week I like to affectionately refer to as “zoo week” and the kids each spent $25 on gifts for everyone in our family but themselves.  I let each of them wrap their own presents.  In other news, I thought a fun thing to do during Christmas break, since we celebrated our 15th wedding anniversary, would be to get professional pictures taken.  I forgot, of course, that December, at the mall is zoo month.  Needless to say, we were too late to have the pictures taken at the mall.  So we gave up and asked a pro in our ward at church.  Since he hasn’t yet figured out when the best day for that would be, we have yet to take those pictures.

Well, that’s all the news that’s fit to print.  I hope you found the new extras I put in as interesting as I did.  In case you’re interested, the new things I did were the embedded video and borrowing images from other sources rather than uploading them from my computer.  I also hope you weren’t bored and that you’re enjoying my take on the Zero-to-Hero challenge as much as I am.


Today’s post is brought to you by a blog cleverly titled Collectables, written by the illustrious Margy Rydzynski. She’s on vacation for the time being.  Her last post, however, though quite short, tells about a family tradition she is planning on celebrating.  I thoroughly enjoy her blog.  Give her a peek and see if you don’t, as well.

