Image I’ve rarely ever followed someone else’s advice on what to write about on this blog.  However, my husband has decided to take up the WordPress Zero to Hero challenge and I wondered if it would help my blog, too.  You know, considering I’ve been at this for a while.  Plus, I’m always up for a challenge.  Look for the Zero to Hero Blogger badge in the sidebar if you’d like to try this yourself.  Anyway, I want to get caught up, as this is day 3 of the challenge, so today I’m publishing a catch-up post.  Buckle up, friends!  This is going to be a long one!

Image

Day 1:  Introduce Yourself.  Write and publish a “Who I Am and Why I’m Here”  post.  My name is Julie, but most people on the internet know me as Cimmy, which is short for Cimmorene.  This name is borrowed and misspelled from a book series I like called the Enchanted Forest Chronicles by Patricia C. Wrede.  The character in particular is a sassy, highly independent, intelligent princess named Cimorene (see the similarity?)

  • Why are you blogging, rather than keeping a personal journal?  The main reason is that I like to tell stories, and what’s the most important story in the world?  Your own.  Also, having a blog online helps my entire extended family know what I’m doing, what my current interests are and how things are going with my immediate family.
  • What topics do you think you’ll write about? Probably the same kinds of things I always blog about!  News having to do with my family and whatever old thing hits my brain at the time.
  • Who would you love to connect with via your blog?  I’m not picky.  I love everyone.  However, I’d mostly love to have story publishers connect with ME via my blog.  Call me crazy.
  • If you blog successfully throughout 2014, what would you hope to have accomplished?  I’d love to hit a thousand followers.  Failing that, though, I just want to continue telling my life’s story.

Day 2: What’s Your Name? Already have a title, tagline, About widget, or all three? Take a few minutes to revisit your choices and think about whether an update makes sense. I already have a title for this blog: Dragon’s Lair.  It reminds me of Cimorene and her friend, Kazul, the king of the dragons.  My tagline has been “The Princess does not need rescuing.  As for an About widget, I just realized I don’t have that.

  • Title:  I like the name “Dragon’s Lair.” It’s the perfect place for a sassy, independent-minded intelligent princess who doesn’t think like other princesses do.  “Dragon’s Lair” stays.  I’ll just add the word “The” at the beginning.
  • Tagline:  the tagline I’ve had is getting a little stale.  I’ve been thinking about changing it for some time.  The trouble is, what tagline can I use that would make people think of me?  Here’s a quote I like.

“Well I’m not a proper princess then!” Cimorene snapped. “I make cherries jubillee and I volunteer for dragons, and I conjugate Latin verbs– or at least I would if anyone would let me. So there!” -Dealing with Dragons

  • About Widget:  I didn’t know this existed.  I was using the Gravatar for the About.  Anyway, I’ve since updated it and you’ll find the About Widget above my Gravatar in the sidebar.

Day 3. What’s On Your Mind? Write the post that was on your mind when you decided to start a blog.

There’s nothing I like better than telling stories!  I also get a huge kick out of reading all of your stories!  Like this post’s featured blog, Bucket List Publications, written by the lovely and capable Lesley Carter.  Her latest post, published on the 3rd of January, deals with her bucket list for this year and how completely, unbelievably insane it is.  She points out early on in this post that most people write a bucket list because they are anticipating death.  She, on the other hand, chooses to write hers because she is trying to live.  To quote Ms. Carter, “I want every day to be better than the last and every day to be the best day of my life.” Each year, Ms. Carter chooses 25 things she wants to accomplish during the year.  The one I’m looking forward to is number 14.  But I don’t want to spoil it for you.  Read her list for yourself.  Who knows?  You might find yourself inspired to write a list of your own.

