Tags

, , , , , , , , , , ,

Many of you who read this, and I don’t know how many of you there really are, don’t know that I’m a Mormon.  So I felt the need to bear my testimony here and remove all doubt as to where I stand.

I know that Jesus Christ was and is a real person.   He’s my big brother, who gave his life for me.  He’s the greatest and probably the only real superhero the world has ever known or will ever know, because he saved the entire world all at once.  His power?  He had the power to lead a perfect, sinless life, to take the sins of the world (past, present, and future) onto his own shoulders, and the power to make a recompense for those sins by dying on the cross.  Not only this, he had the power, after he had died, to take up his body again and live.  Thanks to the Lord’s sacrifice for us, we have a number of free gifts, one of which is called repentance.  I understand, from some pain I’ve experienced recently, that I have no real cause for complaint, and by this I mean an insistence that I am suffering poor treatment.  My pain, even the worst pain I’ve ever felt, whether it was mental, emotional or purely physical, is negligible compared to what he went through.  So, I can’t really complain and I feel an obligation to try to rejoice in the fact that my Savior left me with such a fine gift.  One for which I am unable to send adequate thanks or ably repay.  I do not believe I can save myself.  I am hopelessly flawed.  However, thanks to the gift of repentance, I can still become clean.  I know that my faith will be judged by my works, but nothing I do in this life will save me.  In case you were wondering, this is what is meant by the phrase, “Faith without works is dead,” that we Mormons often quote from our books of scripture.  It is thanks to the indomitable grace of God and his Son, Jesus Christ, that, provided I repent, I will live to see the face of my Heavenly Father again and the rest of my family and friends from my life on this earth, as well.  This isn’t everything I believe, but it’s a good place to start.

I’m not asking you to believe any of this.  I know it’s hard for some of you to believe, but that’s not what I’m asking you to do. That’s not my job. I just felt the need to express my own feelings.  However, if you’re curious to know more, get yourself a copy of the Book of Mormon (available almost anywhere books are sold, or free through the missionaries of the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints, and read it.  Pray about it.  Don’t let someone else, not even a Mormon, like myself, tell you what to believe about it.  Not even your pastor or priest.  Read it for yourself and ask God personally if it’s true.  I promise you, in the name of almighty God, he will tell you if it’s true as he did for me.  Also, if you have any questions at all about Mormonism, you can always visit mormon.com, where just about every question ever asked is answered and missionaries are online almost all the time waiting to chat with you so your questions can be answered live.  I’ll probably bear my testimony again on this blog about some other aspect of my beliefs.  Until then, I leave these words with you in the sacred name of Jesus Christ.  Amen.

