Tags

, , , ,

Thoughts After Sandy Hook: We Are the Safest Weve Been in 40 Years.

We’ve all been somehow touched by the tragedy at Sandy Hook Elementary.  I’m a mom and I can’t help it.  I worry.  It’s in the job description.  However, the above article gave me some peace of mind.  I imagine that, if you’re a parent of one of the children who died that day, you probably don’t take much comfort from the fact that the homicide rate today is the lowest it’s ever been.  I imagine you probably feel a certain amount of anger at the whole situation because not only don’t you have your baby any more, a child who had his or her whole life ahead of them, but the guy who killed them escaped justice by taking his own life.  That’s how I’d feel about the situation if one of my kids had died that day.

Personally, although the information about the homicide rate was helpful, the greatest comfort I took from the whole situation came from the gospel of the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints.  We teach that children under the age of eight haven’t sufficiently learned right from wrong, yet.  As such, they are still innocent.  All twenty kids that died were between the ages of six and seven.  I was taught that children who die before what we call the age of accountability go straight to the presence of God.  I was told that parents will later be given an opportunity to finish raising their children.  I don’t know how much of this is pure gospel, but it feels right to me.  You can find out for yourself on Mormon.org.

