Tags

, , , , ,

I’ve spent the better part of the last few weeks trying to decide which of the two presidential candidates, Obama or Romney, I would vote for.  I felt distinctly uncomfortable about the whole political situation.  I couldn’t decide which of the two candidates struck my fancy.  I’ve never been that fond of politics in the first place.  It bothered me, in particular, that the political views of my parents and my husband were at odds.  I understand, as a citizen of the United States of America, that I have a responsibility to keep myself informed about the political atmosphere.  With that in mind, no matter how much the whole political game bothers me, I feel very strongly that whoever I vote for has to represent, at least in some part, my personal set of values.  Both men do that.  Both of them are upstanding men, happily married with decent law-abiding families.  They both represent policies that, both in the long and short run can benefit my family.

I won’t go into which branch of my family likes which candidate for what reason.  If they want to discuss that, let them do so.  For myself, I have watched the news with my husband from time to time and I have listened to both family and friends give their reasons for their political choices.  I hear from a friend in Texas that the job situation there is desperate because some businesses refuse to hire any new employees so long as there is a black man (a black democrat) sitting in the oval office.  On the other hand, I’ve been told that people object to Mitt Romney because they worry that his politics will be dictated in large part from Salt Lake City, Utah.  I’ve been told that Obama went back on his campaign promises four years ago and it’s time for some new blood.  I’ve been told that Romney is overly privileged and could never possibly understand the needs of the poor.  So you see my dilemma.

I figure that my best bet, in deciding where to cast my vote, is to lay aside the fact of Obama’s race (which, in my view, never entered into the question to begin with) and Romney’s religious preferences and just look at their political stances; to vote based on which man I feel has the plan that seems to best answer my personal needs.  Considering this, my personal plan is, first, figure out what issues currently on the table are most important to me and where I stand on them (Mom, Dad and Jak, I love you all.  This is a decision, however, that I have to make on my own).  Then study both candidates and figure out which of the two aligns the most closely with my personal views.

In the next couple of days, though, as I said, I’m not a political animal, I will detail point by point where I stand on the various issues on the table.  Then I will give my understanding about how each candidate addresses those same issues and which I feel comes closest to my own views.  That’s the only way I feel that I can hope to make an informed decision before voting day.

Wish me well.

