Tags

, , , , ,

Yesterday, Princess was hit in a residential street by a pick-up truck while she was riding her bike to school.  Now, before anyone can make any shocked comments, she’s okay.  No broken bones.  There’s a large scrape on the ball of her left foot that’s making walking difficult, but, beyond that, she came out more or less intact.  The bike probably suffered more damage than she did.  Both police and her teacher said she was smart to wear her helmet, which also survived.  The driver was terribly shaken, as I can imagine anyone would be after striking a child with their car.  The police told me he was in tears shortly after the ambulance and I left to get her foot x-rayed.  He offered to replace Princess’ wrecked bicycle, even though I told him it was a second-hand bike.  I felt so bad for him that I gave him a hug the minute I saw his face.  I’ll probably call him today and let him know that she’s all right and find out what he wants to do about the bike.  When we were done at the hospital, since none of us had eaten anything for breakfast, we all went out to lunch.  Also, we asked her if she wanted to come right home or go to school when we were finished at the hospital, since the doctor there said she could go to school if she wanted to.  She said, unequivocally, that she wanted to go to school.

When Princess finally got to school, yesterday, her teacher asked her to talk about her experiences regarding the accident while the rest of the class ate lunch and answer any questions the kids might ask her.  So Princess has had the chance to talk it all out and she feels better.  On the other hand, she also wants me to buy her some crutches so that walking won’t hurt as much.  I, on the other hand, am still having trouble.  I realize that, had the driver not stopped or Princess not been wearing her helmet, I could have lost my baby girl or else she could be seriously hurt.  I don’t know who to talk to and, if I did, what I would say to them. 

In any case, Mamas, don’t let your babies ride bikes without helmets.

