Tags

, , , , , ,

I'm on @fitocracy

I'm on @fitocracy (Photo credit: billsoPHOTO)

Reposted from BlogHer

I recently discovered a new site that’s in Beta testing and, interestingly enough, it’s a social game where you get points for…getting fit!  Can you believe that?  It’s called Fitocracy.  At the moment it’s by invitation only and I have ten more invitations I can send.  So, if you’d like to join, just let me know in the comments.

In Fitocracy, you list every exercise you did during the day and you get points for everything you did.  Thus far, I’ve earned 268 points just for the exercises I did today and that has put me more than half-way through level two.  Like any social game on the computer, there are accomplishments and quests, but they’re all for doing exercises, like weight training, swimming and jogging.  You also get accomplishments depending on the number of people who gave you “props”, which I think are for letting your friends know that you think they’re doing well.  I don’t have any props, yet.

Finally, if you spend some money (about $6 a month or $50 a year), which I can’t afford to do, you can become a Fitocracy Hero and among other things, create your own special title.

Anyway, I weighed in yesterday when I went to see my new doctor for the first time.  It was an afternoon weigh-in but it was still lower than last time at 285.

