Tags

, , , , , ,

Peanut M&M's, introduced in 1954.

Image via Wikipedia

For the past several weeks, jak and I have been having serious trouble getting Boy to ride the bus to school.  He kept insisting he wanted to go in the car with Mommy and his teacher, Ms CM, said that it wouldn’t help him if we forced him to ride.  I’ve talked it over with Ms CM and we agreed that offering him a reward for riding the bus to and from home might be the way to go.

So, a while ago, I bought a 4 cup plastic container with a snap-top lid, drew a cartoon bus on a piece of paper, put the paper in the container and filled it full of peanut M&M’s, bought in bulk at our local WinCo and cheaper than they would have cost otherwise, and began offering them to him when he came home on the bus.  Then, this morning, although he did his usual thing of insisting, that, no, he wanted to go see Ms. CM in the car with Mommy, I told him his choices were, go in the car with Daddy or take the bus and get candy.  The candy got him out to the bus stop and then, since I had a plan in mind (basically, if he resists the candy and still refuses to get on the bus, go to plan B and simply say, “Well, maybe you’re not ready, today.  We’ll try again tomorrow.”), I was calm and reminded him that he could have his candy if he got onto the bus.  So, reluctantly, he climbed into the bus and I opened the container of candy so that he could pick an M&M and put it in his coat pocket.  Then he turned and let the bus attendant (the extra adult they have to help get the smaller kids in their seats and free up the driver for what he or she was hired for) put him in his seat.

So, score one for the good guys!  I feel pretty good!

On a side note, jak has begun cutting some of the branches off of the big elm in our back yard.  We spent the better part of half an hour taking turns using an axe to hack off a length about a yard long from one end of the biggest of these.  Strangely, I’ve never had so much fun in all my life.  My body feels lighter and my spirit feels lighter, too.  I feel like I could conquer the world.  Right now, though, I want to concentrate on conquering the house.  Incidentally, we put the end we chopped off into the fireplace.  We don’t intend to try lighting it until it has a chance to dry out, since it rained a little last night.  Jak came in later, just drenched in sweat and grinning like the great big kid he is and took off for the water aerobics class that helps take some of the pressure off of his back.

That’s it for now.  There may be more, later, and I’m still working out how to handle the whole “podcast” thing that jak is suggesting on a semi regular basis for my story blog.  Not sure I want to try to set up something that can be downloaded.  I’ll have to talk it over with jak.

