I promised a new feature and I promised my husband that I would spend some time talking in this blog about my family.  I have loads of features and no talk about real life.  *sigh*.  So, in the interest of keeping both promises, I present to you the Saturday Reality Check, in which I reveal what’s been going on with my family during the week.  Since this is my first Reality Check, I want to introduce my family by the nicknames I’ll be using for them.  I’ll admit it.  I’m a paranoid mom.  So I won’t use my kids’ real names online if I can help it, though I may include a few pictures from time to time. 

New HairThis is me, Cimmy.  I’m 42 (yes, I know I don’t look it).  The problem I’m currently dealing with is called Dysthymia, which is a long term low-grade depression characterized by occasional bouts of clinical depression.  What this basically means is that I spend lots of time wondering why I can’t feel happy and occasionally wanting to cry and wondering why I even bother getting out of bed.  I like writing these blog entries because it gives me something else to do than sit around wallowing in self-pity.  Recently, I bought myself a second-hand steel bike for $25.  I had to ride the thing home because it wouldn’t fit in our car and it turns out that the people who had it previously didn’t put the inner tube into the rear tire properly because not only was it folded on itself but it bulged out and made riding impossible.  I was more or less grounded at Big 5 when a nice young couple walked up and offered to fix my bike, which they did.  I was so glad.  Shortly after that, I learned just how badly out of shape I was.  There was no way I was going to be able to ride that thing all the way home.  I ended up alternately walking and riding it, and my buttocks felt very much like someone had hit them hard with a baseball bat.  Still, I managed to get home, where I replaced the seat with one my husband bought for me. 

Jon fave look

This is my husband, jaklumen.  He’s 37 (yes, he’s younger than me.  He doesn’t look it, though).  He’s just a bundle of problems.  Psychiatrically, he’s dealing with Type II Bipolar Disorder.  Most people know what Bipolar Disorder is all about.  For those who don’t, sometimes, you feel unnaturally down, typical depression.  Sometimes, though, you feel manic, which means you feel unnaturally “up”.  With Type I Bipolar Disorder, these mood swings can last for months.  So you’ll be up one month and down the next.  This is usually regulated by the judicious use of Lithium, which is a kind of salt.  Type II Bipolar Disorder is typified by the rapidity of the cycle (which is why it is called “Rapid-Cycling”).  This means that jaklumen is up one moment and down the next.  The effect of this, basically, is that, when he’s in transition, he usually feels irritable.  Physically, jaklumen is suffering from sciatica, which means that his back hurts him ALL THE TIME.  It’s difficult for him to sit up or stand for long periods of time.  As a result, he often wants me to anoint his back with IcyHot ™.

Sarah Photo

This is my daughter, Princess.  She’s 9 years old and attending school with the city’s gifted program.  She’s excelling in her tests but having real difficulty with completing the assignments sent home with her.  She’s very smart.  Recently, Princess taught herself to ride a bike.  I didn’t even help her at all.  We had to get her a bike helmet to prevent her from hurting herself while she rode her bike, since it was obvious she would do it regardless of whether I said it was okay or not.  Things with her have often been like that.  I have often told her teachers that she is too smart for her own good.  She has often found ways to flout the authority of her father and I and then has spent around fifteen minutes explaining to us why.  We’re doing our best to help her prepare for real life but, what with her difficulties with minor Attention Deficit Disorder and Oppositional Defiant Disorder, that hasn’t proven easy so far.  I should mention that she’s particularly proud of her sharp teeth.

Sam photo

This is my son, Boy (yes, I know.  Not terribly descriptive, but we do call him that.)  He’s 4 years old and attending a preschool for children with disabilities.  Boy has shown us signs of autism, in that he has difficulty making himself understood when he wants to and doesn’t seem to do well in various social situations.  He’s been something of a challenge for us because, when he wants something, lacking the ability to always remember what words to use, he will usually try to get it himself.  Boy was escaping his various confinements (high chair, crib, playpen) shortly after he learned to walk, which forced us to convert his crib over to a toddler bed so that he wouldn’t hurt himself escaping from it.  We’ve had to come up with creative ways to prevent him from getting into various kinds of food that we don’t want him to eat and we’ve had to put extra locks and alarms on the front door to prevent him from going outside without an adult. 

Well, that’s my family.  Next week, I’ll let you know what’s going on in everyone’s life.  Hopefully, I’ll remember to take good notes so I’ll remember what everyone did during the week.  From Dragon’s Lair, that’s all she wrote.  No entry on Sunday, guys, but I’ll be back Monday with the usual line-up.

