Today has been pretty busy.  So far, three rooms of my home are now more or less clean.  However, I really went to town today.  Tuesday is Kitchen clean-up day.  So I cleaned the countertops, the back of the sink, behind and underneath the microwave and all the cabinet fronts.  Then I went up another notch and I grabbed a scrub brush and an old toothbrush and scrubbed the edges of the kitchen floor, including beneath the range.  Jaklumen will most likely handle the rest of the floor but my mother once said (at least I think it was Mom that said it) that it didn’t matter how clean the middle of the floor was, if the edges were still dirty, people would think that the whole floor was dirty.  Then I turned my attention to the refrigerator.

     My original intention, of course, had been to just clean out the refrigerator cabinet, the way that I always do.  However, Jak said something about wanting to pull the fridge out and vacuum behind it.  So, I decided that the only thing to do was to bite the bullet and just clean the whole thing.  Of course, that meant removing everything from the refrigerator and the freezer, pulling it all the way out of its alcove, unplugging it, sweeping the alcove, spraying it with cleaner, scrubbing it with the scrub brush and the old toothbrush around the edges, then wiping it down with a sponge and replacing the remaining ant baits.  After that, I had to remove all the shelves and drawers from the refrigerator and clean them (the shower is especially handy for that).  Then I had to spray down both cabinets, scrub and wipe them and then put everything back in.  I was very pleased to be able to return the freezer to some semblance of order, particularly as I found a frozen loaf of bread while I was taking everything out.  I felt similarly about the refrigerator, though it now looks a lot emptier than it did.  Last, but not least, I had to plug the fridge back in and slide it back into place.

     Needless to say, now the whole kitchen looks clean.  Of course, I need to empty out the sink again, replace some things that got displaced during the whole cleaning process and, of course, clean the microwave.  Then I’ve promised Jak that I’ll move the dining table into the kitchen so that I can move the rug and he can vacuum there.   One way or the other, I already feel really, really good about the work I’ve accomplished today.

     Tomorrow, I’ll be in the bathroom.  Knowing Jak, as soon as I’m done with the things I have planned (organize and clean the countertops, clear the floor, empty the garbage and the diaper pail, and unclog the tub) Jak will want me to move things out so that he can run the wet-vac in there.  Oh well.  At least things are getting to be clean.

