Today, I finally did another writing exercise.  Exercise 9 is supposed to be an easy one.  Just pick a word from this short list of seven relatively common words and write a story about it.  Oddly enough, this turned out to be harder than it looked, at first.  But, of the list of words, I found that the word "rhapsody" was the one that seemed to be the most interesting to me.  However, I wasn't thinking of it as a kind of musical composition, but as a name.  Merriam-Webster's defines a rhapsody in this way: "a musical composition of irregular form having an improvisatory character."  I thought about that all day long.  The story behind that link up there is what came out; the beginnings of a very peculiar love story.  I can't help wondering how the two characters, almost diametrically different, will work things out and how the main character will grow in the process.  When I wrote it, though, the place I ended it at seemed like… well, like the end.  However, after you go over and read it, I'd be interested to know how you think the story might continue and how the romance between the two characters might develop.  Who knows?  I might decide to continue it.

