Tags

,

Make-a-mix Cookery

Make-a-mix Cookery

Eliason

A while ago, my mother, Leslie, gave me a copy of the expanded version of the Make-A-Mix cookbook, which we used to use regularly when I was growing up.  I particularly remember eating the Granola Mix for breakfast.  She would be forced to make several batches of it all at once because she could never keep it in the house for very long.  All us "bottomless pits" would scarf it all.

Recently, however, I dug it out and made three mixes from it.  Breadmaker mix (page 13), Hot Roll Mix (page 17), and Quick Mix (page 21).  

Breadmaker Mix is basically all the dry ingredients you need for a loaf of bread in a breadmaker.  You divide the batch up into separate packages and use them as needed.  I gave them to jaklumen who is the big breadmaker guru of the family.  I hope I may speak for him and say that he was pleased, particularly since I made the whole wheat version for him.

Quick Mix is the most versatile of the mixes but is basically a home version of Bisquick.  Mom says the great thing about making your own mixes is that you know what's in it.

Then there's Hot Roll Mix with which you can make virtually anything from French Loaf to Bread Bowls to English Muffins.  Which makes it almost as useful as Quick Mix.  It's also the recipe that makes the largest amount of mix.

It's this third mix that I used for the recipe I'm featuring in this article and which, incidentally, is pictured on the cover of  the book.

Swedish Cinnamon Twists

Swedish Cinnamon Twists

Feast your eyes on the finished product from the recipe on page 216 of Make-A-Mix known as "Swedish Cinnamon Twists".  Honestly, they don't look that much like the twists on the cover of the cookbook, but they sure were a hit with my family.  There's also the fact that the recipe made far too many twists.  So, rather than get into a "twist" about it (heh) I've decided to put the remainder of the twists into an empty bread sack and save them for tomorrow's breakfast.  This recipe makes great use of the Hot Roll Mix.  It adds yeast (Hot Roll Mix has no leavening added) and buttermilk.  This, in particular, I found interesting because, in order to add the buttermilk, it had to be heated to boiling on the stove, which caused it to curdle. I also had difficulty keeping the cinnamon filling inside the twists and also with the glaze which needed extra water so that I could paint it onto the finished twists.  Incidentally, Jak Jr has been into my "stuff" drawer, so my pastry brush is among the missing.  In its place, I ended up using an unused regular paint brush, which will need serious cleaning before I can ever use it to paint with actual paint.

Princess enjoying a Twist

Princess enjoying a Twist

Jak Jr Eating a Twist

Jak Jr Eating a Twist

As for the family's reaction, well these last two shots should give you a pretty good clue.  Jaklumen actually made yummy eating noises when I asked for the family opinion of them.  Everyone had seconds.  I had to have a glass of milk with mine because the glaze was very VERY sweet. 

Incidentally, in the picture with Jak Jr, Princess is trying to put up a set of bunny ears.

