Tags

, ,

The following post is supported on three legs, like a little stool.

Most, if not all, of you will be familiar with "The World's Shortest Melodrama".  For those of you that aren't familiar with it, here's a good example

You Must Pay the Rent

Equipment:  One piece of paper accordion folded into a bow shape.

Cast:

Damsel (bow in hair)

Villain (bow on upper-lip as moustache)

Hero (bow at neck as tie)

Script:

Villain:  You must pay the rent!

Damsel:  But I can't pay the rent!

Villain:  You must pay the rent!

Damsel:  But I can't pay the rent!

Villain:  You must pay the rent!

Damsel:  But I can't pay the rent!

Hero:  I'll pay the rent!

Damsel: My hero!

Villain: Curses!  Foiled Again!

That's the first leg

Now, many of you will already know that my son is an avid Sesame Street fan and, recently, the "Word on the Street" was "moustache".  Like so

Sesame Street Word on the Street: Moustache

As a result of this, my son and my husband have taken to occasionally placing their index fingers under their noses and exclaiming loudly, "Moustache!"

It's comical to watch and makes me laugh almost every time.

That's the second leg.

Okay, here's the third leg.  Yesterday, I showed my moustache loving son "The World's Shortest Melodrama" using my finger instead of a piece of paper.  He loved it and immediately began copying me.  Then I folded up a piece of yellow construction paper and we used that for a while.

Here's the result.  My husband, who laughed when I translated this for him, said it seemed oddly apropos.

Same set up and cast

Script:

Villain: Pay rent!

Damsel: I can't!

Villain: Pay rent!

Damsel: I can't!

Hero:  I am a hero!

Villain:  Oh no!

Damsel: Yay!

