Tags

, ,

"What is your favorite food?  When you cook for your family, what do you enjoy cooking most?"

This is a hard one to answer.  I've been brought up to eat whatever was put in front of me.  I'm trying to teach the same to my kids.  Let me tell you, it's not easy (kudos to my parents for somehow managing to teach that to the five of us.)  That, however, doesn't answer the above questions.

My favorite food…my favorite food.  Hmm.  It'd be easier just to say what foods I don't like.  Things that I couldn't even think of trying, although my mother always said to try a new food at least once because I might like it.  She was right about liverwerst.  The top of that particular list includes tripe, tongue, and pickled pigs feet. 😛

I think, if I had to choose, I would likely pick my husband's homemade pizza.  He makes it with pesto, artichoke hearts and shrimp.  Yummy.

I don't often cook dinner for the family.  When I do, I usually choose to fix something simple.  For example, I've had some small success with beanie weenies; basically, pork and beans with cut up hot dogs mixed in.  Then again, macaroni and cheese with cut up hot dogs was also a big hit.  If it came right down to it, though, I could make a mean beef stroganoff (thanks, mom).

However, my very favorite thing to cook for my family is dessert.  Those who know me well, won't be terribly surprised by that.  The biggest hit with my family so far has been my raspberry pie.  I bought like 4 cups of fresh raspberries and used my favorite home-made pie crust (store bought ones are okay, but never as good as hand made) and made my very first lattice-crusted pie.  My family loved it and I was pleasantly surprised, not to say pleased.  Maybe later this spring or so, I'll get it together and make another one that I can photograph and add to my blog here so you can see what a home-made raspberry pie should look like.  No pride there, just stating facts 🙂

