Tags

, , ,

I'm sorry, gang.  I know it's been a while since I posted a new Journal Jar Question.  Here's the latest.

"What was a favorite place to go with your family when you were young."

When I was young, my family and I would usually go camping at Camp Zarahemla.  That's what my dad called a "vacation".  When I was a kid, it bugged me that other families were going on airplanes to places like Hawaii or Europe and I get to go to Camp Z with my family.  Woo >yawn< hoo.

Looking back at it, however, those were wonderful times.  We would sit around the campfire and roast marshmallows and skip rocks over Clear Lake.  Dad would do something amazing for dinner using the Dutch oven and we'd drive home with mosquito bites all over our bodies and singing camp songs and, occasionally, church hymns all the way.  It doesn't sound like much when you look at it, but we were together.  A family.

To me, as I sit here and type, I realize that was what was important.  I miss those times.

