Tags

, ,

"What is your favorite Halloween memory?"

I think my very favorite Halloween happened when my daughter was about four and told me she wanted to be Little Red Riding Hood for Halloween.  I had a book on costume making, which has been a passion of mine for a while, so I measured my daughter, then bought some red fabric and thread.  I made my own pattern, which was only four pieces and then, lacking a sewing machine, I sewed everything together by hand.  My daughter wore her best dress and this cape and carried an old Easter basket from house to house around the neighborhood and again, later, at the annual obligatory trunk or treat they had later. 

Incidentally, my daughter still has that red cape and occasionally can be seen wearing it.  When she does, it just tickles me to death.

