Tags

, ,

We had an interesting time today.  My daughter, the ever adventurous six-year-old that she is, decided that it might be fun to use some old boxes we had lying around and make herself a robot costume.  I helped her a bit, but, after a while, in deference to the day, I told her I didn't want her to work on the costume any more until tomorrow came.  Needless to say, this did not make her happy.  So she asked me if I wouldn't consider making her some play dough that she could take her anger out on.  I looked on the internet and this is the recipe I found.

Basic Clay Recipe

1 cup flour
1 tbsp vegetable oil
1 cup water
1/2 cup salt
2 tsp cream of tartar

Put all the ingredients into a medium-sized saucepan and heat slowly on low to medium heat, stirring constantly, until it forms a ball.  Then turn it out and kneed it.  If the dough is too sticky, kneed in 1 or two tablespoons more of flour.  Then divide the ball into four smaller portions and store them sealed tightly in an airtight container or a plastic bag.

For color, you can add in food coloring, Kool-aid powder (adds its own scent) or fruit flavored Jell-O powder (same)
For scent, you can add in peppermint oil, lemon oil, or even vanilla extract.
For sparkle, you can add in glitter.

The finished dough has about the same basic consistency as Play-Doh.

I confess, I was more than a little nervous about this recipe.  I've never made cooked play dough before.  At first, it was really REALLY soupy.  Eventually, though, it formed up into a nice pliable ball.  My daughter helped me divide it into four portions and put it all into bags.  We made ours blue and put peppermint extract into it.  It smelled okay, for a while, but the scent disappeared after a bit and now it just smells like a whole lot of salt.  So, if you want your dough to smell good, be sure to use scented oil, if you have it.   Here's the great website where I found the recipe.  There's also a wonderful recipe here for an edible play dough you can make with peanut butter and honey.  I highly recommend it for school age kids.  But I wouldn't give it to the littler ones unless you have problems with them eating the kind with the salt in it.  I once made edible dough for my daughter when she was three and all she really wanted to do was eat the dough.

Well, that's all from me, at this end.  More tomorrow.  Maybe.

