Tags

, , ,

"Tell about dreams, expectations and hopes you have for each of your children (If you don't have kids, tell about dreams, expectations and hopes you'd be likely to have if you did)."

I don't know about expectations, I've never been much for that, although I suppose I do have a few hiding here and there in the back of my mind.  As I thought about this one, though, My mind filled with hopes and dreams for my two children.

Beginning with the eldest, I hope very strongly that my daughter will, one day, marry in the temple.  I hope that she will choose a kind, considerate, loving man who will treat her with respect and who will have her respect and love in return.  I pray that she will grow up to be a decent and happy citizen of the United States of America.  I hope that, one day, she will learn the power of friendship and love.  I would like for her to have a job that she likes, well-paying or not, it doesn't really matter to me.  Just so that she likes her job.  I see so much potential in my daughter, as I watch her play and learn and grow.  I want her to fulfill that potential.  Most of all, I want my daughter to have a good life, not necessarily free from adversity, but good enough that she can appreciate.

For my son, I suppose I expect him to be tall, like his father is.  I hope to God that he hasn't inherited either of our psychiatric problems.  I mostly want the same things for him as I want for my daughter, though.  I really don't have separate hopes and dreams for each of them.  It's strange, I guess.

All I really want for my kids is that they should be happy in their lives, that they should learn to appreciate their blessings and not worry about their adversities.  I want them to live good lives that they can be proud of, to use their brains and their smarts to make their lives and the lives of others better.

That's the best I can do. Your mileage on this question may vary.  It's all in the interpretation.

