Tags

, ,


"What did you do as a child that got you into the most trouble with your parents?  How did they handle it?"

When I was younger, my mother once gave me her wallet and sent me to the store to buy some incidental things for her.  I bought the things she wanted and then, with the leftover change, I bought something for me.  When I got home, my folks were so mad.  They said that using the change without permission was stealing.  After that, there was a lot of talking; mainly them talking and me listening.  At some points, it even seemed like they were yelling at me.  My mother, in particular, seemed upset, but she looked really worried (the way moms tend to when they think their kids are going seriously astray).  I don't know how long I sat there and listened while they talked at me, but it felt like a long time.  That was the one and only time I've ever stolen anything.

